5 tips for writing when you feel stuck

Christina Dunbar
3 min readSep 24, 2021
Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

Write with your whole heart. Write from your guts. Write and let your tongue go wild.

  1. Know your why. And make it fierce.

When I truly tapped into the why of writing my one woman show, the words dripped out. That does NOT always happen as a writer. There are seasons of being stuck, feeling lost, and not wanting to do any writing (hence this article). With my show, my why was clear- talk about my taboo life as a stripper. Humanize. Release. Set my voice free. The words had been sitting in my throat for so long. I needed to expel them. I had to. My why was connected to my healing and giving shame the middle finger, which could inspire others to do the same. My why fired through my pen. And kept me writing even when I didn’t feel like it.

Ask yourself: What’s my deep down why for writing?

2. Trust your soul.

When I first started writing my show, even though I had my why, I got stuck. I started comparing my art to other people’s art. I started to think my work wasn’t interesting. I started to think I had to go bigger- what does that even mean?! It means…. I was all up in my ego and nowhere near my soul. My soul didn’t care about how someone else put on a show. Or being big. My soul wanted to express the voice within. As soon as I committed to the journey my soul wanted to go on…

--

--

Christina Dunbar

I write to ignite the female soul. Themes include creativity, personal growth, writing, storytelling, and magic. Learn more here: christinadunbar.com